Introduction to the author

Most of you reading this likely know me personally, but for those of you that don't, allow me to introduce myself.

My name is Jessi, and I live and work in Washington, DC. I was born and raised in a small town in central Indiana, and I am married to a great guy named Seth. I got my bachelor's degree in Chinese with a minor in Political Science from Indiana University in 2010, and my master's degree in International Affairs: US Foreign Policy with a focus on US-Asian Relations from American University in 2012. My Master's thesis was an analysis of political instability in China and was published by Lambert Academic Publishing in 2012. I studied abroad in China in 2009, and went back for the World's Fair there in 2010. I've also been to the Bahamas, St. Lucia, Mexico, Germany, France, Canada, and - if you count just being in the airport - Japan (I don't.)

Despite all of those achievements that may sound impressive on their face, I have very little to do with the foreign policy community any more. I tried really, really hard for years after graduation from my master's program to get that 'dream job', to use the skills I had being trained to use (and paid damn good money for), and that just never worked out. I now work for a nonprofit that promotes the use of a specific fuel as a source of clean energy. It's a mildly interesting job, and I work with some highly intelligent, motivated and knowledgeable people that are really fabulous at their jobs. I wouldn't say it's by any means my 'dream job'. But, that's another post for another time.

I am always either home, at work, or at the climbing gym. I spend a ridiculous amount of time climbing (or, I should say, what seems like a ridiculous amount of time to someone who doesn't climb.) I'm there about 13 hours a week, by my calculation. I also love doing yoga, reading, doing DIY home improvements projects, entering giveaways and planning my whole life way in advance. My husband and I have a six-year-old Shih Tzu named Mei Mei that was recently diagnosed with a progressive brain disease that causes seizures, so a lot of our time is taken up spoiling her and tending to her medical needs. That's ok with us, because she's pretty cute. ;) Most of my posts, at least for a while, will be about these topics, I'm sure.

I'm starting this blog because my life - and thus my philosophies and beliefs about life - have changed significantly in the last two years. I have odd hobbies, strong opinions and a lot to talk about, so hopefully starting this blog will be an outlet for me in that way, a way for me to keep our family updated about our life, a centralized location whereby I can answer a lot of questions people ask me and a fun way to start conversations with people on topics I care about.

Anyway. That's it for today, I'll hopefully be back to write my first official post in a few days. <3

Read More
Powered by Blogger.

© Haynes, Her Way, AllRightsReserved.

Designed by ScreenWritersArena